Florida Medical Marijuana Law and Regulations
As many of you know, Senate Bill 8-A will be signed by July 3rd by Governor Scott. With this bill, many more patients will be able to access Medical Marijuana in Florida without having to wait the (90) day period. The 90 day waiting period was unconstitutional to patients in Florida because many cancer patients which were terminally ill passed away before they were even able to access their medication.
(What kind of state lets that happen to sick people?)
With the new law going into effect within the next week, here are some things you should know:
1. No more (90) day waiting period as required in Amendment 2:
Eliminate the 90-day waiting period before the qualified physician may register a patient as qualified to receive low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana.
2. Patients will have to see a doctor IN PERSON as "telemedicine" is not allowed. This means that anyone who went to a Physician they did not see in person originally WASTED THEIR MONEY:
Conducting a physical examination while physically present in the same room as the patient and a full assessment of the patient’s medical history.
3. Patients are still not able to cultivate their own medication
4. Patients are still not allowed to "smoke" the flower which shows how much the State of Florida wants to be a dictator in your medical needs and quality of life:
- Allow marijuana edibles and vaping, but prohibit the smoking of marijuana.
5. The price is more expensive in Florida because all of these regulations set forth on the Physician and the time it takes to continuously monitor each and every patient. See below requirements:
- Establish standards for a qualified physician to issue a physician certification to include:
- Conducting a physical examination while physically present in the same room as the patient and a full assessment of the patient’s medical history.
- Diagnosing the patient with at least one qualifying medical condition.
- Determining, and documenting in the patient’s medical record, that the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for the patient. If a patient is younger than 18, a second physician must concur with this determination and this determination must be documented in the patient’s medical record.
- Determining, and documenting in the patient’s medical record, whether the patient is pregnant. A physician may issue a physician certification for low-THC cannabis only, to a patient who is pregnant.
- Reviewing the patient’s controlled drug prescription history in the prescription drug monitoring program database.
- Reviewing the medical marijuana use registry to confirm that the patient does not have an active physician certification from another qualified physician.
- Registering as the issuer of the physician certification for the named qualified patient on the medical marijuana use registry.
- Updating the registry with specified relevant information concerning the physician’s certification for the patient’s medical use of marijuana.
- Limit certifications to no more than three 70-day supply limits of marijuana.
- Require a qualified physician to evaluate an existing qualified patient at least once every 30 weeks before issuing a new physician certification for that patient.
For your own knowledge: please visit the Office of Compassionate Use for Florida at
Please read the new bill which states how the program will be regulated and implemented
Cannamed has been leading the industry for over 10 years with offices across the nation. With a knowledgeable staff and professional physicians, we are the go to Physicians Office for those in need of Medical Marijuana in Florida. We offer a BEST PRICE GUARANTEE, 24/7 VERIFICATIONS, MEDICAL RECORDS ASSISTANCE, MULTIPLE LOCATIONS, and 24/7 PATIENT ASSISTANCE. Call us today to be evaluated for your debilitating medical conditions.
We have physicians you meet with in-person and are ready to assist your needs (866)226-6216.